image credit

Chartered Institution of Water and
Environmental Management (CIWEM)

106-109 Saffron Hill, London, EC1N 8QS  
Tel: 020 7831 3110   Fax: 020 7405 4967
  • Committee Members

    • Peter Melville-Shreeve - Chair

      Exeter University, Exeter

      Pete has recently started a STREAM Engineering Doctorate at University of Exeter, sponsored by Severn Trent. This role will see him supporting innovative rainwater harvesting concepts with a view to identifying opportunities for water demand and flood management within Water and Sewage Companies.


    • Rebekah Rice - Senior Vice Chair

      Bristol Water, Bristol

      Rebekah works for Bristol Water as an Assistant Engineer in water resources.  Her specialisms are strategic water resources planning, hydrology, reservoir monitoring and water demand. Previous to this, Rebekah worked in Sudan for four years installing and managing water and sanitation programmes. Rebekah is a member of CIWEM and is currently working towards Chartership. Rebekah became a member of the committee in 2013.

    • Alan Whipps - Junior Vice Chair

      Pell Frischmann

    • Adrian Kelland - Immediate Past Chair (15)

      Mouchel, Exeter

      Adrian has been a member of the committee since 2012, previously working with HQ to keep our website up to date. He specializes in the use of databases and Geographical Information Systems for the asset management of water and waste water networks.

      Tel: 01392 878093

    • Jim Humphries -

      Wessex Water, Bridgwater

      Jim has been a chartered member and a member on the committee since 2010.  He is a Regional Process Scientist for Wessex Water, specialising in the field of Odour Management.


      Tel: 07786 660846

    • Rachel Bird - Hon. Secretary

      WSP UK, Exeter

      Rachel is just starting her second year as a committee member. She specialises in Flood Risk both at the local and the national scales and has a particular interest in hydrology and hydraulic modelling. She is currently in the processed of organising an evening event regarding the Flood and Water Management Act.

      Tel: 01392 267504

    • Chad Staddon - Committee Member

    • Joanna Goodwin - Committee Menber & New Members Co-ordinator North (18)

      Parsons Brinkerhoff, Bristol

      Joanna has been a member of CIWEM since 2008 and is currently working towards Chartership.  She is a Senior Environmental Engineer with a broad interest of the water sector.  Her specialisms are in drainage, surface water management, flood risk, water quality and water use.

      Tel: 0117 933 9394

    • Alan Bean - Committee Member & Webmaster (18)

      NHS, Truro

      Tel: 01872 253400

    • Aimee Hart - Deputy Webmaster and New Members Group

      Hyder Consulting, Exeter

      Aimee became a member of the committee in 2013. She works for Hyder Consulting as a hydrologist, where she is the Junior CIWEM Champion.  Aimee's specialism relates to the assessment of flood risk and Project Appraisal Reports for flood defence schemes.

      Tel: 01392 374627

    • Rosanne Broome - Committee Member

      Environment Agency, Bridgwater

      Rosanne has been a member of the committee since 2002, a past branch Chair and is a CIWEM Fellow. She works in Bridgwater for Environment Agency Wessex Area as a Senior Water Framework Directive Planning Officer. Rosanne has been with the Agency and it's predecessor since 1989. She is also a Chartered Environmentalist and has worked previously in New Zealand for a Catchment Board. Rosanne's specialism is Water Framework Directive and catchment planning, and has a keen interest in the fast developing Ecosystems Services approach.

      Tel: 01278 484693

    • Daniel Fitzgerald - Committee Member (18)

      South West Water, Exeter

      Daniel was elected onto the SW committee in 2002 and served as Branch Chairman during 2011-12. He is MCIWEM, C.WEM and CEnv. His specialisms include climate change adaptation and mitigation, and has worked on-site for 4 months as a volunteer in Africa with WaterAid.

      Tel: 07733 485662

    • Rebecca Platt - Committee Member

      Mouchel, Exeter

      Tel: 01392 873380

    • Stephen Tomlin - Committee Member

      Wessex Water, Bath

      Stephen has been a member of the committee since 2010. He works in Bath for Wessex Water as their Wastewater Treatment Planning Manager, where he is also Principal Mentor for their CIWEM Structured Training Scheme. He is also a chartered engineer (MICE), and has previously worked for Halcrow. His specialism is wastewater treatment.

      Tel: 01225 526547

    • Colin Thomas - Committee Member

      Independent Civil, Water and Environmental Consultant, Plymouth

      Colin has been a member of the committee for nine years and was chairman four years ago.  He is a Civil Engineer with an extensive industry background, including the project management and design of numerous water and wastewater network and treatment schemes.


    • Nick Walker - Committee Member

      Mott MacDonald

      Nick became a member of the committee in 2013.

    • Anthony Raine - Hon. Treasurer

      Pell Frischmann, Exeter

      Anthony started his career in the Water Industry in 1990 as a Wastewater Network Modeller \ Sewerage Engineer and has been a chartered member of CIWEM since 2002. He joined the South Western Branch Committee in 2003, acting as Branch Chair in 2008.

      Tel: 01392 441563

    • Aisha Bello-Dambatta - Committee Member (18)

      University of Exeter


Chartered Institution of Water and
Environmental Management (CIWEM)

106-109 Saffron Hill, London, EC1N 8QS  
Tel: 020 7831 3110   Fax: 020 7405 4967