image credit

Chartered Institution of Water and
Environmental Management (CIWEM)

106-109 Saffron Hill, London, EC1N 8QS  
Tel: 020 7831 3110   Fax: 020 7405 4967
  • Committee Members

    • Marc Pinnell - Chair

      JBA Consulting

      Marc is Managing Director of JBA Consulting and has over 20 years' professional experience of flood hydrology, hydraulics and flood mapping.  His current and previous technical work includes: coordination, management, delivery and review of Flood Risk Assessments (FRAs), and Strategic Flood Risk Assessments (SFRAs and SFCAs); preparation of flood risk mitigation, management and design strategies; provision of flood risk advice to clients and design teams; selection, design and management installation of hydrometric measurement gauges; direction of hydraulic and hydrological analyses and input into flood risk management, hydrological, water level and management studies. 

      Tel: 01444 473652

    • Hannah O’Callaghan - Past Chair

      Staffordshire County Council

      Hannah is the Flood Risk Manager at Staffordshire County Council and the immediate Past Chair of the CIWEM Rivers and Coastal Group. Hannah manages a team tasked with delivering the Lead Local Flood Authority role for the County.

      Hannah has over 10 years' experience in flood risk management, gained in local government, consultancy and at the Environment Agency. She also sits on the CIWEM East Midlands Committee, Defra/ EA Joint Research Programme Asset Management Theme Advisory Group and represents CIWEM on the Advisory Group for the Local Authority Flood Risk Management Capacity Building Programme.

    • Chrissy Mitchell - Vice Chair

      Environment Agency

      Chrissy is a national principal research Scientist within the Environment Agency, working within the Joint (DEFRA/EA/WG/NRW) Flood and Coastal Erosion Risk Management Research and Development Programme. This provides her with the ability to stimulate new and exciting research developments in areas such as forecasting, asset management, modelling, natural processes, and the list goes on...

      She was Business Development and Performance Manager of the Flood Forecasting Centre from 2008-11, establishing the set up of the new national centre both in London and then Exeter; broadening her knowledge on the fascinating world of hydro-meteorology.

      Chrissy has been involved with CIWEM since 2006; as part of the Rivers and Coastal Group Committee from the outset and later as a CIWEM mentor and panel reviewer. She has organised numerous events and actively help to respond to consultations, often co-authoring position statements. In 2011 she was invited to sit on the editorial board of CIWEMs International Journal of Flood Risk Management. She is a fellow of CIWEM, as well as a chartered scientist, chartered environmentalist and chartered water and environmental manager. Chrissy is also a chartered geographer and fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. Chrissy has a genuine passion for research that makes a difference, as well as helping to steer flood and coastal risk management in the 'right' direction. She hopes to further enable this as chair of CIWEMs River and Coastal Group in 2015/16. 

      Tel: 07733 308743

    • Katherine Pygott - Junior Vice Chair

      Peter Brett Associates

    • Jed Ramsay - Honorary Treasurer

      Conservators of the River Cam

      Jed is a chartered member of CIWEM and the treasurer for the Rivers & Coastal Group.  Jed has over 13 years' experience in the flood risk management and navigation sectors.  This has included design and engineering project management on the River Thames for all types of fluvial projects such as river restoration, locks, weirs, bank works and maintenance activity.  Jed currently works in navigation and is River Manager for the River Cam where he manages a small navigation organisation.

    • Pippa Lawton - Honorary Secretary

      Royal HaskoningDHV

      Tel: 0131 561 2262

    • Kathryn Kimball - Committee Member


      Kathryn is a Senior Project Manager in Arup's Water team in Leeds specialising in managing infrastructure projects in the UK and Ireland. Kathryn's technical background is in Flood and Coastal Erosion Risk Management including strategies, Project Appraisal Reports (the business case for flood and coastal defences), climate change assessments, vulnerability assessments, coastal geology and geomorphology, economic analysis, flood risk assessment and catchment management.  As well as being a Member of CIWEM (CWEM) , Kathryn is a Chartered Environmentalist,  a Chartered Geographer (Geomorph),  a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society and an MSP Practitioner.

    • Rosalind Turner - Committee Member

      Mott MacDonald

      Tel: 020 8774 2908

    • Graham Lymbery - Committee Member

      Sefton Council

      Tel: 0151 9342960

    • Jonathan Simm - Committee Member

      HR Wallingford

      With 35 years' experience in coastal and river engineering, Jonathan has a passion for developing and disseminating ideas that are directly usable by practitioners (e.g. through handbooks and visual media). including integrating social science aspects into flood risk management (FRM).  He has experience in organizing professional meetings, (e.g. annual armourstone users meeting) and developing policy briefs and would support CIWEM-RCG here. Jonathan is committed to any committee work he takes on, (e.g. chairing the CIRIA Water Advisory Panel) and is supportive of the professional development of young professionals (mentor role). Jonathan provides a link for CIWEM-RCG into an emerging international FRM community of practice, using professional contacts within Europe and USA.

    • Alistair Nisbet - Committee Member


      Tel: 0113 301 2435

    • Tim Palmer - Committee Member

      Black & Veatch


      Tel: 01244 304100

    • Gavin Holder - Committee Member

      Eastern Solent Coastal Partnership

      Tel: 02392 446121

    • Toby Willis - Committee Member

      Environment Agency

      Tel: 01684 864574

    • Bryan Curtis - Co-opt Member

      Worthing Borough Council

      Tel: 01903 221372

    • Jamie Margetts - Honorary Committee Member & CIWEM UDG

      Clear Environmental Consultants

      Tel: 07949 045629

    • David Thomas - Committee Member

      Middle Level Commissioners

      Tel: 01354 653232

    • Adam Cambridge - Committee Member

      Atkins Global



Upcoming Events


Chartered Institution of Water and
Environmental Management (CIWEM)

106-109 Saffron Hill, London, EC1N 8QS  
Tel: 020 7831 3110   Fax: 020 7405 4967