Nick Reeves Award


The Nick Reeves Award for Arts and the Environment is awarded by CIWEM’s Arts and The Environment Network, in association with the Centre for Contemporary Art and the Natural World (CCANW), in recognition of an outstanding contribution in the field of environmental arts. The award was previously named the AWEinspiring! Award.

The Prize

The winner will receive a certificate, feature in The Environment Magazine and, where applicable, have their work featured in an exhibition organised by CCANW.


How to Enter

Please send a short description of the artwork or project you are nominating, along with your reasons in a message marked “Nick Reeves Award”, to Self nomination is permitted. Entries close on 30th June 2017.


Selection Criteria

The award celebrates an artwork or arts project by a living UK born or based artist (or group) that has contributed innovatively to CIWEM’s vision of “putting creativity at the heart of environmental policy and action”.

This high-profile award recognises excellence in work by arts practitioners, or environmentalists engaging with arts practices, whether well-established or newly emerging.

The focus is on rewarding identified work, not simply a person. All forms and modes of arts practice, and geographical locations, may be considered.

This scheme symbolises the growing significance of cross-disciplinary approaches in relating imaginatively to the world around us, and in responding to the environmental and cultural challenges of the age. CIWEM, CCANW, and their collaborating partners at the forefront of evolving new thinking on these issues, are committed to highlighting positive examples of effort, talent, leadership and insight for us all.



The judging panel will consist of representatives from both CIWEM’s Arts and The Environment Network and CCANW.

The judges will select shortlisted candidates, whose work will be recognised when the winning piece of artwork is announced to the press. The judges’ decision on all matters relating to the competition is final.


Past Winners


The 2016 award was presented to ecoartscotland and The Land Art Generator Initiative (LAGI) collaboration in recognition of their outstanding contribution to the field of environmental arts, including the LAGI Glasgow Design Competition.

The judging panel were particularly impressed by the practical orientation and ambitious scope of the initiative, which directly engages with management of the environment. They praised the multi-disciplinary structure of the collaboration, bringing together science, art, design and engineering expertise to tackle the transition to renewable energy in response to climate change, one of our biggest global environmental challenges. The open sharing of ideas and experience which is facilitated by the project will undoubtedly lead to an ultimate impact beyond the scope of the project alone.

Special Commendations were also awarded to Tania Kovats for her exhibition ‘Evaporation’ and Chris Watson for his work as a musician, documentarist, communicator and sonic artist.

The full article is available here.

Read the feature article by ecoartscotland and LAGI from The Environment magazine here.


landing stages cover


The Ashden Directory of Environment and Performance is the winner of the 2015 award.

From 2000 to 2014, the “Ashden Directory” published an online magazine of news, interviews and features relating to ecology and the performing arts It also provided an annotated timeline of milestone events, and built the first and most comprehensive database of 700+ companies and productions that have marked the development of this field.

From 2008 onwards, “Ashdenizen”, the Directory’s companion blog, added informed commentary on the ways in which the performing arts and wider culture relate to climate change

Edited by Robert Butler and Wallace Heim, with associate editor Kellie Gutman, the Ashden Directory was a project of the Ashden Trust, one of the Sainsbury Family Charitable Trusts.  Updating of both websites ceased in December 2014, but their content remains fully accessible.  To mark this transition, an E-book edited by Wallace Heim and Eleanor Margolies, “Landing Stages: Selections from the Ashden Directory of Environment and Performance 2000 – 2014” has been published on-line, and presents a collation of some of the best writings and photographs from the Directory and the blog, along with new overview essays

The panel were particularly impressed by the depth of the treatment of ecology in theatre and the performing arts over many years which the Directory, the online Ashdenizen blog and ‘Landing Stages’ E-book represent. The vision, intention and execution of this initiative has been far-reaching and the approach is seen as an inspirational model for other projects in this country and abroad.

The panel also gave a special commendation to Touchstone collaborations, for their work involving an imaginative range of trans-disciplinary social engagements. You can find out more about Miche Fabre Lewin and Flora Gathorne-Hardy (Touchstone collaborations) at

Both of these examples exemplify CIWEM’s vision of “putting creativity at the heart of environmental policy and action”.




The 2014 winner, Vincent Walsh, was presented with the award for his ambitious work in establishing the Biospheric Foundation.

Vincent Walsh established the Biospheric Foundation, a Socio Ecological Urban Research Practice in Blackfriars, East Salford in 2013. This internationally acclaimed whole-systems intensive urban farm also provides a research centre for the Universities of Salford, Durham, Dublin and Newcastle. The Foundation has attracted funding from a host of organisations, as well as being awarded the People’s Postcode Lottery Fund (2013), and ‘Green Champion’ Green Apple Award (2014). It now employs 6 staff and coordinates 50 core volunteers. As well as hosting local community educational workshops, the foundation has a whole-food shop, “whole-box” distribution service and provides a centre for Salford City Council/Salford University’s Sustainable Urban Strategy. The Biospheric Foundation maintains a radical voice for social and environmental justice, by addressing the implications of Climate Change in urban living.




Platform, a London-based innovative arts collective, was selected for its long-standing commitment to using the arts to open up spaces for transformation, inspiration and change in ecological and social justice.




The 2012 Winner was Richard Long RA. The award recognised the full body of Long’s highly original work for its dialogues with the natural world, and the way it participates in the rhythms, distances and raw materials of that world. This award recognises the way he has successfully linked the often ephemeral aspects of his work with the language of the gallery, bringing meditative images, text works and powerfully elemental sculptures to wide audiences around the world.




The winner of the 2011 award was Cape Farewell for their unique contribution to public understanding of climate change through art and science. Cape Farewell brings together leading artists, writers, scientists, educators and media for expeditions to hot spots of climate change where they can map, measure and be inspired by the environment in order to create artworks that engage the public through creative insight and vision.




The winners of the first award were Helen Mayer Harrison and Newton Harrison, who have led the field of ecological art for over 40 years. The award was made in particular recognition of their acclaimed work, The Force Majeure. The Force Majeure is a distillation of works on the theme of climate change, incorporating Greenhouse Britain: Losing Ground, Gaining Wisdom, which was first shown at CCANW in 2007.