Celebrating the CIWEM Annual Dinner 2019

Celebrating the CIWEM Annual Dinner 2019

On 16 May 2019, we celebrated another successful CIWEM Annual Dinner.

The event took place at the beautiful Drapers’ Hall in London, and was enjoyed by over 150 water and environmental professionals.

Victoria Harris, CIWEM publications manager, speaking about the UK Junior Water Prize.

This year we were honoured to have guest speaker Emma Howard Boyd, chair of the Environment Agency. Emma joined the Environment Agency board in July 2009. She chaired the Audit and Risk Assurance Committee, sat on the Pensions and Flood and Coastal Risk Management Committees and was an Area Board Member. She was appointed as Deputy Chair in July 2015.

Emma Howard Boyd giving her speech.

Emma spoke about the power of making conversation, and highlighted the importance of discussion when it comes to solving global issues including climate change and food waste, and encouraging sustainable practices.

Diana Virgovicova giving her speech at the dinner.

We also had a speech given by the winner of the UK Junior Water Prize, 17-year-old Diana Virgovicova. She blew away the room with her powerful and emotive speech, inspiring others with her passion for environmental causes as a young woman.

We would like to say a massive thank you to the Diamond Sponsor of the evening, SNC Lavalin's Atkins. As part of the Sponsorship package, Atkins had a corporate table at the dinner.

SNC Lavalin's Atkins table

ARUP table

It is tradition at our Annual Dinner to announce the year's CIWEM Honorary Fellows. CIWEM Honorary Fellowship is a prestigious award, held by an exclusive group of people who have made an exceptional contribution to the field of water and the environment.

Dr Hayaatun receiving her award for Honorary Fellowship.

Paul Samuels receiving his award for Honorary Fellowship from President David Wickens.

This year, Honorary Fellowship of CIWEM was awarded to the following:

Dr Hayaatun Sillem MSc PhD FIET, Chief Executive Officer of The Royal Academy of Engineering.
Ms Liv Garfield, Chief Executive Officer of Severn Trent Water
Mr Edwin Ka Hung Tong BSc MBA CEng FHKIE MICE, Director of the Drainage Services Department, HKSAR (Hong Kong)
Mr Paul Samuels MA PhD MCIWEM C.WEM MICE (Baker Medal ICE), Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Flood Risk Management.
Mr Peter Brooks MCIWEM, Chair of the CIWEM New Zealand Network.

Alastair being presented the award by Chief Executive Terry Fuller.

We also had a 6th surprise Honorary Fellowship, which was awarded to our very own Alastair Chisholm, Director of Policy. Alastair has been working for CIWEM for 20 years and has put his heart and soul into his work, and has supported the Institution and a lot of its work throughout that time.

On top of everything else, it was a fantastic opportunity to get all of the CIWEM staff together for an evening, although sadly we were missing some of the team.

CIWEM staff photo

Thank you to our brilliant Photographer, Nando Machado. You can find out more about his work at https://www.panel8.com/

Share this article

Become a member

Whether you are studying, actively looking to progress your career, or already extensively experienced, our membership will add value and recognition to your achievements. We can actively help you progress throughout your career.

Become a member

View our events

We organise a wide portfolio of UK and international thought leading events, providing an industry recognised forum for debate, CPD and sector networking. These events also support our policy work and inform key initiatives.

View our events